Smart Pension named Pensions Technology Firm of the Year in top industry awards

Smart Pension was named Pensions Technology Firm of the Year for the second year in a row in top industry awards last night/Thursday February 28.

The digital workplace pension innovator was up against some stiff opposition in its category, which included Aviva and Legal & General.

Smart was also shortlisted in three other categories: Pension Scheme Innovation, Pensions Provider of the Year and Master Trust Offering of the Year.

Will Wynne, Smart Pension co-founder and MD, said: “This is an outstanding performance all round from our in-house tech team. This is the second year we’ve collected this award and it demonstrates well how important our frictionless solution and unique API is for the employers that use it.

It’s great to have all our hard work recognised in this way.

The news came in on the same day two of the Smart Pension management team were named in the Innovate Finance Women in FinTech Powerlist.


For further information please contact:

Liz Slee

+44 (0) 7540 060112


About Smart Pension

Smart Pension is a global savings technology platform provider. It is also one of the UK’s largest providers of workplace pensions. Its award-winning master trust is overseen by independent professional trustees. It was co-founded in 2014 by Andrew Evans, CEO, and Will Wynne, MD, and launched in May 2015. Europe’s largest asset manager Legal & General Investment Management (LGIM) took a minority stake in the digital pension platform in 2016, part of a move by LGIM to invest in high-achieving, innovative technology that has a positive impact on the economy. In 2019 J.P. Morgan made an equity investment in Smart as part of a strategic placement round.

In June 2017 it was named Fintech Innovation of the Year and overall winner in the Digital Leaders 100 awards, in June 2018 it was named as Master Trust of the Year at the European Pension Awards and in February 2019 it was named Pensions Technology Firm of the Year in the Pensions Age awards.